2024 Health Career Scholarship Recipients Announced


The Legacy Foundation announced the recipients of the Laboratory Control Ltd. (LCL) Health Career Scholarship and the Bessie Ullman Memorial Scholarship for the 2024-2025 school year. Since 2004, when the LCL program was developed, $534,725 has been provided in scholarship support to 181 students from 40 communities in our region pursuing a healthcare career. The intent of the scholarship program is to invest in the education of those students who may look to southeast Iowa for employment in health care following the completion of their studies.

This year, $31,000 was awarded in scholarships, including $5,200 from the Bessie Ullman Memorial Fund. Bessie Ullman was a dedicated hospital auxiliary member for many years, and her family chose to honor her memory with this one-time health career scholarship. The scholarship was awarded to the top three scoring applicants.

Applications for the LCL scholarships are reviewed and scored by the LCL Scholarship Committee, with all identifying information removed to ensure fairness. This year’s scholarship recipients represent eight different communities, attend seven different colleges and universities, and are pursuing ten different healthcare degrees.

The 2024-2025 scholarship recipients, their hometowns, and their majors are listed below:
 Aliveah Brinegar (Eddyville) – BS in Human Physiology/Pre-med at the University of Iowa.
 Meghan Coulter (Ottumwa)- BSN at Drake University.
 **Mikayla Fritz (Moravia) – BSN at Mount Mercy College.
 **Klaire Fipps (Drakesville) – DO at A.T. Still University.
 Madelynn Hornback (Sigourney) – BS in Pre-Professional/Physical Therapy at University of Iowa.
 Lauren Kraemer (Fairfield) – BS in Speech Language Pathology at the University of Northern
 Tania Reed-Pedersen (Albia) – Healthcare Administration at Bellevue University.
 Lilly Reneker (Fairfield) – RN/BSN at Indian Hills Community College/Grand Canyon University.
 Sabrina Reneker (Fairfield) – AAS in Radiology Technology at Indian Hills Community College.
 **Hayden Short (Ottumwa) – MS in Public Health Administration at the University of Iowa.
 Rilee Willingham (Cincinnati) – AAS in Radiology Technology at Indian Hills Community College.

The Laboratory Control Ltd. Health Care Career Scholarship Fund is an endowed fund administered by the Legacy Foundation to support individuals interested in pursuing a career in health care.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments