General Election Summary: Two New Wapello County Supervisors Elected; Westrich, Wilz Win


The aftermath of the General Election has resulted in two new Wapello County Supervisors being elected.

Four candidates vied for two open seats and Republicans Darren Batterson and Bryan Ziegler were the top vote-getters with 5,532 and 5,368 respectively. Incumbent Democrat Jerry Parker was third with 3,991 votes. Democrat Connie Hammersley-Wilson finished with 3,259.

Republican Hans Wilz defeated Democrat Diane Schwartz to win the seat in the Iowa House District 25. Wilz talked with Ottumwa Radio News shortly after his victory.

“i couldn’t be happier the entire district stood up and said, ‘we want you to come to work for us.'” Hans Wilz, unofficial winner of Iowa House District 25

In a race for the Iowa Senate District 25, Republican Cherilynn Westrich nearly doubled the vote total of Democrat Matt Greiner to win the seat. Westrich was a State Representative the previous two years.

Incumbent Republican Senator Chuck Grassely defeated Democrat Mike Franken to win reelection to the US Senate.

In Iowa’s third congressional district, Republican Zach Nunn has a lead of over 2,000 votes over two-time Congresswoman Cindy Axne with all counties reporting, according to the Secretary of State’s website.

Kim Reynolds beat Deidre DeJear to win a second term as Iowa’s governor.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments