Election Results: Hoffman, Caviness Elected to Ottumwa City Council; Eldon Mayor’s Race Undetermined


The race for Ottumwa’s two open city council seats was decided Tuesday night.

Bill Hoffman Jr. led all candidates with 883 votes. As the top vote-getter, Hoffman will be sworn in and begin his term during the next city council meeting on November 21st. Hoffman will replace Russ Hull who opted not to run for reelection.

Keith Caviness grabbed the second council seat with 781 votes. He will be seated in January. Caviness replaces Marc Roe who did not submit papers to run for a third term.

Cyan Bossou finished third with 671 votes. Joe Damerval finished fourth with 643 votes.

There will be no changes to Ottumwa’s school board. Christina Schark, David Weilbrenner, Brian Jones, and Morgan Brown all ran unopposed.

The winner of the Eldon mayoral race is undetermined. Roger Penrod tallied 68 votes and Michael McClure has been credited with 50 votes. However, records show there are 109 write-in votes cast which means the winner could be Penrod, McClure, or a third person yet to be determined.

In the Eldon City Council race, Stacey Doree, David Showman, and Tom Bedford all won reelection.

The Cardinal Community School District School Board will have two new members: Ryan Johnson (140) and Devlin Rupe (157). Trevor Brown (145) was also reelected to the school board.

5 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments