Wapello County, 9 Others Declared Drought Disaster Areas


Several counties in Southeast Iowa have been designated as federal natural disaster areas.

In response to a request from Bob Wegand, Farm Service Agency’s Acting State Executive Director for Iowa, the U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated several counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

Those countines in Iowa include Clark, Decatur, Jefferson, Lucas, Madison, Marion, Union, Wapello, Warren and Wayne Counties.

Farmers and ranchers in the following areas also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

Those counties include Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Dallas, Davis, Guthrie, Henry, Jasper, Keokuk, Mahaska, Monroe, Polk, Ringgold, Taylor, Van Buren and Washington counties in Iowa. It also includes Harrison, Mercer and Putnam counties in Missouri.

All counties listed were designated Natural Disaster Areas on August 25th, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for FSA’s Emergency Loans, provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declarations to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan Program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments