Special Election On Public Measures For Cardinal, EBF, and Ottumwa School Districts To Be Held March 2


A series of money-raising public measures for the Cardinal, EBF and Ottumwa school districts will come to a vote In March.

A special election set for March 2 will see voters of Wapello, Monroe, Mahaska, Keokuk, Van Buren, Jefferson and Davis counties go to the polls to determine the fate of a series of public measures related to raising revenue for local school districts. Each of the 3 public measures shall determine whether the Board of Supervisors of the Cardinal (Measure A), Eddyville-Blakesburg-Freemont (Measure B), and Ottumwa ( Measure C) school districts are to be authorized to levy a physical plant and equipment property tax not to exceed $1.34 per $1,000 of the assessed valuation of the taxable property within the school district. The levy will be for a 10 year period.

Written absentee ballot request forms must be sent by 5:00 p.m. on February 19. Absentee ballots mailed must be postmarked by midnight, March 1, 2021 or be hand delivered to the Wapello County Auditor’s Office before the polls close on Election Day. Voting centers in Wapello County will be used for this election.

Voters in the Cardinal School District who reside in Davis, Van Buren and Wapello Counties will vote in Wapello County at a Cardinal School District Vote Center. These centers are the Agency Community Center at 102 W. Main St. in Agency and the Eldon Library Hall at 608 W. Elm St. in Eldon. Voters that reside in Jefferson County will vote in Jefferson County at the Batavia Community Center at 1006 3rd St. in Batavia.

Voters in the EBF School District who reside in Davis, Keokuk and Wapello Counties will vote in Wapello County at an EBF School District Vote Center. These centers are the Blakesburg City Hall at 101 State St. in Blakesburg and the Eddyville Public Library at 202 Second St. in Eddyville.

Voters in Mahaska County will vote at the Fremont Community Building at 07 East Main St., Fremont, and voters in Monroe County will vote at the Monroe County Courthouse – 10 Benton Ave E. in Albia.

Ottumwa School District vote centers are the Great Prairie AEA at 2814 N. Court Rd., the Wapello County Courthouse at 101 W. 4th St., the Bible Baptist Church at 944 W. Williams St., and Bridge View Center at 102 Church St., Ottumwa, IA 52501

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments