OHS Track Teams Show Promise at Don Newell Classic


The Ottumwa High girls and boys track teams hosted their only home meet of 2014 Tuesday night, the Don Newell Classic Stadium.  The Bulldogs boys finished 5th in the team standings and the OHS girls had a 4th-place finish, but athletes from both teams turned in strong individual performances.

The boys team earned first place in one event, as the team of Cody McConnell, Roger Cruz, Jason Tahtinen and Dallas Keasling won the 4×800 relay.  Individually, Chris Peden took second place in the discus and Osha Wylie earned second place in the long jump.  The 4×400 relay team of Cruz, Matt Moreland, Jalen Strunk and Wylie finished in second as well.

The girls’ team saw a dominant performance from Charlotte Flanders, who won the 400-meter dash and anchored the winning 4×400 relay team.  Ashlynn Thompson, Ellie Hammack and Alexis Nelson ran the first three legs of that relay.  Erin Sheehy won the 200-meter dash and Thompson finished second as OHS swept the top two spots in that race.  Thompson, Hammack, Sheehy and Sarah Schulz took second place in the 4×200 relay, and Schulz also took second in the long jump.

The boys team title was won by Des Moines Lincoln, who edged Oskaloosa by three points.  Iowa City West won the girls title by a wide margin over Cedar Rapids Prairie.