Noon Lions Celebrate 80 Years

By Aaryn Frazier, January 18, 2019

The Ottumwa Noon Lions gave out awards during their 80 year celebration party in four categories to recognize fellow Lions for their service in the community.

Ottumwa Noon Lions provide various services and helpful donations to multiple organizations throughout their eighty year run. They take time annually to honor fellow Lions by giving out awards named as follows: the Melvin Jones award, the Iowa Lions Foundation Warren Coleman Honorary Award, the outstanding Ottumwa noon-lion of the year, and the newly named Rooker Outstanding Service Award.

Austin Jones was the recipient of the Melvin Jones award for his work with the new Avenue of Flag’s project. The project brings flags to people’s yards during chosen holidays for 40 dollars.

Next is the Warren Coleman Honorary Award which went to Mendy McAdams for her take over of leadership on a club and district level.

Third, they recognized that Cole Rushing was the Outstanding noon-lion of the year. According to the release from the club, he wins drawings frequently but always donates his winnings back, and is always willing to provide ideas and feedback for the club.

The last award, the Rooker Outstanding Service Award, was given to Brian and Willene White for their dedication to the mission to serve the community.

(Photo – Ottumwa Noon Lions President Blaire Siems giving out awards.)

Facebook Comments


Ottumwa, IA weather