Multiple area prep athletes named IPSWA all-state in football


DES MOINES, IA – The Iowa Print Writers Association (IPSWA), with assistance from the Iowa Football Coaches Association, has announced their all-state football teams for 2020. This year’s teams were selected through a virtual Zoom meeting this Sunday, November 22.

Ottumwa’s Jesus Jaime is the third team punter in Class 4A, the Bulldogs lone selection. 

In Class 1A, the Sigourney-Keota Cobras, who made it all the way to the State Semifinal, had several players recognized: Sam Sieren, 1st team running back; Zach Smithart, 1st team offensive line; Brady Duwa, 1st team defensive back; Wyatt Sieren, 2nd team DB; And Brayden Moffitt, 3rd team o-line. Also in 1A, Pekin’s Cael Lyle is 2nd team o-line; Cardinal’s Griffin Greiner 2nd team Wide Receiver; And Van Buren County’s Treyton Bainbridge 3rd team Punter. 

Davis County Wide Receiver, Caedyn Glosser, made third team all-state in Class 2A, as did Centerville offensive lineman Brady Clark. 

And in 3A, Trashaun Willis from Washington made first team Defensive Utility, and was named captain of the 3rd team. Captains must be a senior and selected to the first all-state team and are voted on by sports writers in each class. Willis’ teammate, Zayne Laws, earned third team d-line honors, Fairfield’s Max Weaton third team Wide Receiver, and Oskaloosa’s Cooper Spry, third team DB.  

Click here to see the full IPSWA all-state team selections.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments